Palme d’or for Östlund. 75th Cannes Film Festival winners announced

On Saturday evening, the winners of the 75th Cannes Film Festival were announced. This year’s Palme d’Or went to Swedish director Ruben Östlund’s “Triangle of Sadness”. It is known that this is the second such award for him. In 2017, Ostlund received the main prize at Cannes for the film “The Square”.

The jury of the Cannes Film Festival this year was headed by French actor Vincent Lindon. Together with him, the winners were determined by actress and screenwriter Rebecca Hall, actress Deepika Padukone, actress Noomi Ramas, actress Jamin Trinka, Iranian director Asghar Farhadi, director Laj Lee, director Jeff Nichols and screenwriter and director Joakim Trier.

The host of the closing ceremony, which took place at the Festival Palace on Saturday 28 May, was actress Virginie Efira.

List of winners of the 75th Cannes Film Festival:

Feature Films

Palme d’or

Triangle of Sadness directed by Ruben Östlund

Grand Prix (jointly awarded)

Close directed by Lukas Dhont

Stars at Noon directed by Claire Denis

Award for Best Director

Park Chan-Wook for Heojil Kyolshim (Decision to Leave)

Award for Best Screenplay

Tarik Saleh for Walad Min al Janna (Boy from Heaven)

Jury Prize (jointly awarded)

EO directed by Jerzy Skolimowski

Le Otto Montagne (The Fight Mountains) directed by Charlotte Vandermeersch & Felix Van Groeningen

75th anniversary Prize

Tori et Lokita (Tori and Lokita) directed by Jean-Pierre & Luc Dardenne

Award for Best Actress

Zar Amir Ebrahimi in Holy Spider directed by Ali Abbasi

Award for Best Actor

SONG Kang-ho in Broker directed by Hirokazu Kore-Eda

Short Films

Palme d’or

Hai Bian Sheng Qi Yi Zuo Xuan Ya (The Water Murmurs) directed by Jianying Chen

Special Mention

Lori (Melancholy of my Mother’s Lullabies ) directed by Abinash Bikram Shah

Un Certain Regard

Un Certain Regard Prize

Les Pires (The Worst Ones) directed by Lise Akoka & Romane Gueret

Jury Prize

Joyland directed by Saim Sadiq

Best Director Prize

Alexandru Belc for Metronom

Best Performance Prize (jointly awarded)

Vicky Krieps in Corsage directed by Marie Kreutzer

Adam Bessa in Harka directed by Lotfy Nathan

Best Screenplay Prize

Mediterranean Fever directed by Maha Haj

“Coup de cœur” Prize

Rodeo directed by Lola Quivoron

Caméra d’or

War Pony directed by Riley Keough and Gina Gammell, presented as part of the Un Certain Regard Official Selection

Special Mention

Plan 75 directed by Hayakawa Chie

La Cinef

First Prize

Il Barbiere Complottista (A Conspiracy Man) directed by Valerio Ferrara

Centro Sperimentale di Cinematografia, Italy

Second Prize

Di Er (Somewhere) directed by LI Jiahe
Hebei University of Science and Technology School of Film and Television, China

Joint Third Prize

Glorious Revolution directed by Masha Novikova
London Film School, England

Les Humains Sont Cons Quand Ils S’Empilent (Humans Are Dumber When Crammed up Together) directed by Laurène Fernandez
La CinéFabrique, France


Be the first to comment on this article

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Go to TOP